Anti-Aging: Glutathione and Centenarians

Current statistics show that the 100-year-old group is the fastest growing age group. What is the secret of a long and healthy life? The answer may lie in a small but extremely potent molecule present in every cell of the human body: glutathione.

While vitamins such as C and E are known worldwide, glutathione in its central importance for cell metabolism is actually only known among researchers and is still largely ignored by conventional medicine for inexplicable reasons.

For example, the glutathione level of 41 centenarians aged between 100 and 106 years was compared with that of persons aged between 60 and 79 years. It was found that glutathione levels were significantly higher in the group of over 100s than in the younger comparison group and that glutathione levels were again highest in those over 100s with the best health status1).

As a result of the study it was found that a high glutathione level is causally related to a high life expectancy.

In a later study, glutathione levels were measured in 87 women aged 60 to 103 years, all still in excellent physical and mental condition.

The researchers found that all women had very high glutathione levels. This group of women was observed for another 5 years by the researchers, who concluded that “high levels of gluthione are characteristic of women with long life expectancies “2).

Although discovered in 1921 by the English biochemist and Nobel Prize winner Hopkins, it was not until the 1980s that researchers came to the conclusion that glutathione played a key role in maintaining health and preventing diseases.

All indications are that glutathione is an important key to anti-aging and promotes a long life.

Literature:

1) Andersen, H.R. “Lower Acitivity of Superoxide Dismutase and High Activity of Glutathione Reductase in Erythrocytes From Centenarians” Age and Ageing, 1998; 27.643.8.

2) Lang, C. A., Mills, B. J., Lang, H. L., Liu, M.C., Usui, W. M., Richie, J. Jr., Mastropaolo, W., Murrell, S.A. “High blood glutathione levels accompany excellent physical andmental health in women ages 60 to 103 years.” J Lab Clin Med. 2002 Dec; 140(6):380 -1.

Anti-Aging: Glutathion und 100-Jährige

Aktuelle Statistiken zeigen, dass die Gruppe der 100-Jährigen die am schnellsten wachsende Altersgruppe ist. Was verbirgt sich hinter dem Geheimnis eines langen und gesunden Lebens?

Die Antwort hierzu liegt möglicherweise in einem kleinen aber extrem potenten Molekül das in jeder Zelle des menschlichen Körpers vorhanden ist: Glutathion.

Während Vitamine wie C und E weltweit bekannt sind, ist Glutathion in seiner zentralen Bedeutung für den Zellstoffwechsel eigentlich nur unter Forschern bekannt und wird von der Schulmedizin aus  unerklärlichen Gründen immer noch weitgehend ignoriert.

So wurde der Glutathionspiegel von 41 Hundertjährigen im Alter zwischen 100 bis 106 Jahren mit dem von Personen im Alter zwischen 60 und 79 Jahren verglichen. Hierbei wurde festgestellt, dass der  Glutathionspiegel bei der Gruppe der über 100-Jährigen deutlich höher war als in der jüngeren Vergleichsgruppe und das bei den über 100-Jährigen mit dem besten Gesundheitszustand wiederum der Glutathion- spiegel am höchsten war1).

Als Ergebnis der Studie wurde festgestellt, dass ein hoher Glutathionspiegel mit einer hohen Lebenserwartung in ursächlichem Zusammenhang steht.

In einer später durchgeführten Studie wurde der Glutathionspiegel von 87 Frauen im Alter von 60 bis 103 Jahren gemessen die sich alle noch in einem exzellenten physischen und mentalen Zustand befanden.

Die Forscher fanden hierbei heraus, dass alle Frauen einen sehr hohen Glutathionspiegel  hatten. Diese Gruppe von Frauen wurde für weitere 5 Jahre von den Forschern beobachtet wobei die Wissenschaftler zu dem Schluss kamen, „dass hohe Gluthionspiegel charakteristisch für Frauen mit hoher Lebenserwartung sind“2).

Obwohl bereits 1921 von dem englischen Biochemiker und Nobelpreisträger Hopkins entdeckt, kamen  die Forscher erst nach und nach seit den achtziger Jahren zu der Erkenntnis, dass Glutathion eine  Schlüsselrolle für den Erhalt der Gesundheit und der Prävention von Krankheiten spielt.

Alles deutet somit darauf hin, das Glutathion ein wichtiger Schlüssel zum Anti Aging ist und ein langes Leben fördert.

 

Literatur:
1) Andersen, H.R. „Lower Acitivity of Superoxide Dismutase and High Activity of Glutathion Reductase in Erythrocytes From Centenarians” Age and Ageing, 1998; 27.643.8.
2) Lang, C. A., Mills, B. J., Lang, H. L., Liu, M.C., Usui, W. M., Richie, J. Jr., Mastropaolo, W., Murrell, S.A. “High blood glutathione levels accompany excellent physical andmental health in women ages 60 to 103 years.” J Lab Clin Med. 2002 Dec; 140(6):380 –1.