Glutathione, is oral intake effective?

Grafiken_

The debate about the efficacy of orally administered glutathione to improve glutathione levels in cells and tissue is being fiercely debated among experts and has been boiling for years. A study by the Penn State College of Medicine (USA) has now shown that the oral intake of this important nutrient effectively increases the body’s own reserves of GSH.

The double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial with 54 healthy adults showed that the levels of glutathione (GSH) in the group of subjects taking 1000 mg of glutathione per day over six months increased by 30% to 35% in many areas.

In the control group, who consumed 250 mg of glutathione per day, an increase in whole blood was found. Parallel to increasing the glutathione storage in the body’s group with high-dose also increased the function of NK cells, a marker for increased immune defense, said John P. Richie, Jr., Professor of Public Health Sciences and Pharmacology at Penn State College of Medicine.

“After three months of glutathione supplementation, a variety of immune function markers were examined and, as a result, the cellular immune response improved more than two fold in the group taking a daily dose of 1000 mg” said Dr. Richie.” We are convinced that supplementation with GSH can be an effective intervention strategy to prevent and strengthen immune function “.

“The current prevailing opinion is that glutathione is destroyed by oral administration in the stomach and intestine and that GSH must therefore be administered intravenously.
However, previous animal studies have shown that oral glutathione is bioavailable and improves GSH levels in tissue” Dr. Richie said.

“Our investigations have shown that the increases are in most cases dose- and time-dependent and have “washed out” to the initial level within one month after discontinuation of supplementation” said Dr. Ritchie. “We are convinced that the daily intake of GSH as a dietary supplement stabilizes the glutathione levels and that oral administration is an effective way to increase the glutathione stores in the body.”

The results of the study “Improved Glutathione Levels in Blood and Buccal Cells by Oral Glutathione Supplementation” were presented by Dr. Richie at the “Experimental Biology 2013” conference of the “Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)” in Boston on 22-23 March 2007. April 2013 (The FASEB Journal. 2013;27:862.32) and meanwhile also published in PubMed, the leading international scientific database: Link to the publication Infographic

The study was conducted in collaboration with the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health Sciences, the Penn State Hershey Cancer Institute and the Penn State College of Medicine Hershey, PA/USA.

GLUTATHION – oral wirksam?

Grafiken_

Die Debatte über die Wirksamkeit von oral verabreichtem Glutathion zur Verbesserung des Glutathion-Spiegels in Zellen und Gewebe wird zum Teil heftig unter Fachleuten geführt und brodelt seit Jahren. Nun belegt eine Studie des Penn State College of Medicine (USA), dass die orale Zufuhr dieses wichtigen Nährstoffes die Speicher der körpereigenen Vorräte an GSH wirksam erhöht.

Die doppelblind, randomisiert und Placebo-kontrollierte Studie mit 54 gesunden Erwachsenen ergab, dass der Glutathion (GSH) Spiegel  bei den Probanden der Gruppe, die 1000 mg  Glutathion pro Tag über  sechs Monate einnahmen, in vielen Bereichen um 30%  bis 35% gestiegen ist.

Bei der Kontroll-Gruppe die 250 mg  Glutathion  pro Tag zu sich nahmen war eine Erhöhung im Vollblut nachweisbar. Parallel zur Erhöhung der Glutathion-Speicher im Körper der Gruppe mit Hochdosierung  erhöhte sich auch die Funktion der  NK-Zellen, ein Marker für eine erhöhte Immunabwehr, sagte John P. Richie, Jr., Professor für Public Health Sciences and Pharmacology am  Penn State College of Medicine.

„Nach dreimonatiger Supplementierung von Glutathion wurden eine Vielzahl von  Immunfunktion-Markern untersucht und als Ergebnis festgestellt, dass sich die zelluläre Immunreaktion  um mehr als das Zweifache bei der Gruppe verbessert hatte, die eine Tagesdosis von 1000 mg eingenommen hat,“ so Dr. Richie. „Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass  die Supplementierung mit GSH eine effektive Interventionsstrategie zur Prävention und Stärkung der Immunfunktion sein kann“

Die derzeit noch vorherrschende Meinung  ist dahingehend, dass Glutathion bei oraler Gabe im Magen und Darm zerstört wird und GSH deshalb intravenös verabreicht werden muss.
Allerdings zeigten bereits frühere Tierstudien, dass oral verabreichtes Glutathion bioverfügbar ist und den GSH-Gehalt im Gewebe verbessert, sagte Dr. Richie.

Unsere Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass die Zuwächse in den meisten Fällen Dosis- und Zeitabhängig sind und sich innerhalb eines Monats nach Absetzen der Supplementierung auf das Anfangsniveau „ausgewaschen“ haben“, so Dr. Ritchie. „Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass durch die tägliche Einnahme von GSH als Nahrungsergänzung  der Glutathionspiegel stabilisiert wird und, dass die orale Einnahme ein wirksames Mittel ist die Glutathion-Speicher im Körper zu erhöhen.“

Die Ergebnisse der Studie „Verbesserter Glutathion-Spiegel im Blut und in Buccalzellen  durch orale Glutathion Supplementation“ wurden von Dr. Richie anlässlich der „Experimental Biology 2013“ Konferenz der „Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)“ in Boston am 22. April 2013 vorgestellt (The FASEB Journal. 2013;27:862.32) und zwischenzeitlich auch in der international führenden Wissenschaftsdatenbank PubMed veröffentlicht: Link zur Publikation Link zur Infografik

Die Studie wurde in Gemeinschaftsarbeit mit dem „Pennsylvania Department of Public Health Sciences“, dem „Penn State Hershey Cancer Institute“ und des „Penn State College of Medicine“ Hershey, PA/USA, durchgeführt.